Tuesday, February 26, 2019

2 small victories today!

I had TWO small victories today!  Today, I jogged on the treadmill for a whole minute.  Even my coach was surprised and happy for me.  It was the last block on the tread before we had to hit the rower...and I was hurting, but determined to try.  It was a one minute push followed by a one minute base.  Instead of increasing my incline, I increased my speed to 4 and jogged for the whole minute.  It hurt like crazy and I was huffing and puffing at the end, but VICTORY! 

My second small victory I haven't accomplished yet...only the beginning of it.  See, today was to be my last workout of the week as I'm traveling tomorrow and Thursday for work, and Friday my schedule is full of work calls.  But something made me check to see if there was an OTF near my hotel...and sure enough...there is one about a block away!  So I called to be put on the wait list for the 5:30am class.  YES...5:30 IN THE MORNING!  EASTERN TIME!  I'm number 2 on the list, but was assured I'd have a spot. 

I'm finally getting into the mindset that I WANT to workout.  I WANT to be there.  As much as it hurts...as much as it's hard...as much as it can be embarrassing...I WANT to get it done! 

These small victories are keeping me motivated!!

Monday, February 25, 2019

Another small victory

I had another small victory today.  During my time on the treadmill...I actually hit the mile mark.  In the short time I've been doing this...I have yet to hit that mile mark...until today.

After class, I stayed because I wanted to chat with the coach about a few things...and I'm glad I did.  Another lady stayed and was talking about her friend, who wanted to quit, because she could not get herself into the orange even though she was huffing and puffing.  I spoke up...and said...that's ME!  My muscles burn and hurt well before my heart rate hits that orange zone.  I feel like I'm giving my all...but it's not reflected in the color on the screen.  Plus, having a low resting heart rate doesn't help! 

Coach Brenda said that as long as your heart rate is going up, then going down, (you're hitting the peaks and valleys) then you are doing what you need to do.  That someone else's orange, could be my green.  She also said that fueling up after with protein might help stop some of the muscle aches afterwards.

Needless to say, I have a friend at class now...the lady who stayed.  I'm hoping we can encourage one another...and maybe her other friend can come to a class and I can help encourage her. 

I feel like quitting each day I'm scheduled to go.  I tell myself that I'm too fat to be doing these exercises...that it's not helping me any...that I haven't noticed a change.  And that is something I need to work on.  This is a mental battle for me as much as it's a physical battle.  I need to start telling myself more positive things.  Like I CAN do this.  That's why these small victories are so important to me.  I have such a long journey ahead of me...that when I think about it I get overwhelmed.  So I have to think small...and relish the small things.  Like hitting the mile mark on the treadmill. 

Friday, February 22, 2019

Small victories

When I stop and think about the road ahead...all the weight I have to lose...all the work I have to put in...I get overwhelmed.  I know I didn't get here overnight...and I know that I won't get where I want to be overnight.  So I have to break down my journey into small victories.

Today, I had a small victory.  See, I haven't ran in years.  Probably close to 20 years when I think about it.  But today, during a 30 second push, I decided to try to run.  So during those 30 seconds, I ran...at speed 4, incline 1.  I could feel my fat jiggling...and my muscles burning...and my lungs feeling like they were going to explode.  But I made 30 seconds.  I made it and I'm here to tell about it.  I didn't die.

Today, I earned the most splat points to date.  30 minutes in the orange/red zones.  30 out of a 52 minute workout.  I'm pretty damned proud of myself.

Today, I weighed in at 267.6lbs.

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Workout #4

Today was an endurance day.  Oy vey!  Considering my muscles laugh at me just walking up the stairs, this was SUPER HARD for me.  Especially after working out yesterday as well.

The 600 meter row just about did me in.  But I did it.  It was painful, and I had to stop a few times to let my legs rest, but I did it.  Me.  I did it.  No one did it for me.

That is the thing I'm struggling with most.  I'm doing this all on my own.  My husband doesn't know that I joined OTF.  He'd balk at the monthly fee...especially since I have a treadmill downstairs in the basement that I haven't been on in years.  But this setup...this way...seems to work for me.  If I don't show up...they charge me.  It was always way too easy to make some excuse as to why I couldn't go to a gym...the roads are slick, it's raining, I've got PMS etc etc etc...there were no consequences other than the fact that I'm paying for something I'm not using.  But OTF...they will charge me if I don't show.  It's that little motivation that gets me there. 

I love that the coaches are in my ear.  Telling me (telling the class) to keep at it.  Don't give up.  Push.  Give everything you've got.  I need that.  I've worked out more in the last week than I ever have.  And I want to be able to maintain this.  Hence this blog.  I don't know if anyone will ever read it...but it's a little more accountability.  The chance someone MIGHT come by...and wonder what's up. 

My plan is to weigh weekly.  Measure monthly.  Eventually, I will settle into a Monday, Wednesday, Friday workout routine.  Right now, I'm all over the place because my work calendar was already set.  I can schedule these workouts into my calendar in the future so that I don't have any calls at that time. 

If you're so inclined...say hi!

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Workout #3

I hit OTF again today.  I actually did sit ups!  My arms are going to hurt tomorrow since we were doing weights, but I got through it all.  

I did talk to my coach after...I hit my splat points...but it was so hard to get into the orange zone.  My muscles are laughing at me well before my heart rate goes up.  She said it was perfectly normal...not to compare myself to anyone else.  That's hard...I see everyone else with huge minutes in orange/red...and here I am...barely making it into the green and still hurting.  But I'm there...and that's what matters.  

I decided to take some measurements today post workout:

Left thigh 33in
Right thigh 32in
Left calf 20.5in
Right calf 20.25in
Left bicep 15.5in
Right bicep 16in
Hips (around my butt) 58.75in
Waist (mid torso) 44in
Bust (under boobs) 42in
Neck 15in

Weight first thing in the am: 269lbs.


Friday, February 15, 2019

The before...

I don't want to dwell on the number on the scale...because even when I was happiest with how I looked, the scale said I was overweight.  So in order to keep me motivated, I have to take pictures to see my progress.  These were taken this morning.  I'm ashamed to post them...I'm ashamed I let myself get to this point.  But the important thing is I'm doing something about it. 

I was traveling for work on Wednesday, so no workout, and yesterday was very busy at work, so no workout (I planned it this way) and I'm super glad.  My leg muscles hurt so bad the last 2 days.  Sitting down to pee was a chore!  Climbing the stairs in my house hurt.  I'm hoping after today's workout that I'm not so sore...I have a Girl Scout cookie booth tomorrow!





Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Getting back up

I followed 2B Mindset for about a month...and lost about 12 lbs.  But I hit a plateau and wasn't losing...so I gave up.

Fast forward to now.  I am determined to try again.  I just got home from Orangetheory, which has their grand opening on 2/19/19.  I signed up back in December, and these are their VIP "trial" classes.  Today was my first.  It was hard.  It was very hard.  I may have teared up when I realized how hard it was for me.  But I pushed through.  I did it.  I completed the full 60 minute workout.  I cried at the end, because I did it.  I made it.  I actually finished.  Even now, thinking about it, I'm tearing up.  Because it was HARD.  I earned 19 splat points.  You earn one splat point for every minute you are in the orange or red heart rate zone...the zones where you are pushing yourself (orange is comfortable, red is uncomfortable).  The target is at least 12 per class...and 30 minutes into the class I had 0...but felt like I should have all 30.  My muscles were hurting and shaking.  But again...I did it.

I feel proud of myself.  For finishing...but part of me also feels ashamed that I let myself get this far.  My next class is Friday as I'm traveling for work tomorrow.  Wish me luck!